System Of A Down Live

The DDevil Is So Lovely

05/28/1998 - West Gotham - Tucson, AZ



Daron Malakian: Guitar

John Dolmayan: Drums

Shavo Odadjian: Bass

Serj Tankian: Vocals


Other Performers:

  • Clutch
  • Slayer



  • Suite-Pee
  • Mind
  • War?
  • Know
  • Soil
  • Suggestions
  • Darts
  • X



Source          Format          Quality          Complete          Length



  • 'Diabolus In Musica' Tour.


  • None



  • None


  • Thursday night, living off the momentum of the incredible show the night before, SYSTEM OF A DOWN rocked the house with the set of suite-pee, mind, war, know, soil, suggestions, darts, X. People here actually had an impression of who system of a down was because of the great public relations work of Dave Harte, the street teamer from Arizona who sent out all the demo tapes and system stuff to the fans.The layout of the venue was very interesting---and had enough room that there were three different pits, which is pretty mind-boggling,considering the number of people there. System gave 110 percent that night, and the crowd was feeding off their energy. The fans could see that the band was audience oriented and it made them participate even more. This was the first show where i wasnt the only one singing to the songs, which made me very excited to know that the revolution had truly started. Something which was obvious in all the shows which i attended was that the audience was visibly impressed by the 'tight' onstage presence that system has. The first instance in which this was evident was when serj would speak before each song, asking the audience if they knew the CIA was fucking them since the 50's, and if they were tired of their 9-5 mind fucking job. Secondly, the people responded during WAR?--- in Daron's guitar solo, and the 'international security' refrain.once again, i tried my best to avoid the clutch and slayer shows,because i am a little person and i dont want to get killed. but, the slayer show must have been crazy that night, because people were being brought out through the back, with broken legs and arms, cuts and bruises, and others were just being thrown out =] Incredible show,although the club was kinda small.

Review By: Jenny

  • System of a Down sounded great. They really got the people going. Then Clutch came on. They were just "alright". Not very heavy. Then came SLAYER! They opened with Hell Awaits, and played an incredible set. Highlight songs: Hell Awaits, War Ensemble, Raining Blood, Dead Skin Mask, Jesus Saves, Angel of Death, and thetwo new ones they played: Stain of Mind, and Death's Head, which I really enjoyed. If you get the chance to see them don't miss it! Awesome Show!!

Review By: Craig






Recent Blog Entries

Recent Photos

Super Share

Share on Facebook